Mufti Day

Pink Mufti Day 

Rep Achievement

Congratulations to Jessica Greenwood who was selected in the Manawatu U14 Water Polo team. We wish Jessica and her team all the best for the water polo tournament in Marlborough later this term.

Teacher Only Day

Please note the school will be closed on Friday 17 May due to a Teachers Only Day. The school will be closed to students on this day and parents/caregivers will need to make alternative arrangements for their child. Normal timetable will resume on Monday 20 May.

Cross Country 2019

Congratulations to all students who participated in the School Cross Country held on Tuesday 7 May. It was pleasing to have so many entrants and we had some excellent results from our runners. Thank you also to our student volunteers who helped run the event. Results from the day were:


Junior Boy Junior Girl
1st Sam Brown 1st Cassidy Ututaonga
2nd Kyan Mooney 2nd Charlotte Orme
3rd Callum Mercer 3rd Charlotte Pratt
Intermediate Boy Intermediate Girl
1st Emerson Smith 1st Ashleigh Infield
2nd Toby Pearce 2nd Molly Elliott
3rd Hamish Bird 3rd Elouise Hook
Senior Boy Senior Girl
1st Noah Macdermid 1st Greta von Ehren
2nd Walter Johnson 2nd Helena McLachlan
3rd Bryn Thompson 3rd Christina Stuart
House Results  
1st Rutherford  
2nd Sheppard  
3rd Ngata  
4th Hillary  

Board of Trustees Election Voting Notification 2019

Voting papers for the Board of Trustees 2019 election were sent to eligible voters on 29 May 2019. These need to be returned by 12 noon on Friday 7 June 2019.

If posting your voting papers, it is important that these are posted ASAP – NZ Post has reduced the frequency of its mail delivery service and can no longer guarantee that all envelopes will be post marked. For those envelopes that are not post marked, Returning Officers will not have any evidence that the envelope has been posted before 12 noon on election day, and as such will not be counted.

Please note, the voting paper is valid only if returned in the addressed envelope provided.

Board of Trustees Election Nomination Results 2019

Parent Representative Nominations
The following nominations have been accepted for Parent Representatives on our Board of Trustees:
NEILD, Jeremy
SAGE, Leigh
SPENCER, Jonathan
WARD, Elizabeth

Voting papers will be posted to eligible voters on 29 May 2019.

Staff Representative Nominations
The following nominations have been accepted for Staff Representatives on our Board of Trustees:

Voting papers will be issued to eligible staff by 29 May 2019.

It is your responsibility to exercise your right to vote.

The poll for Parent and Staff voting closes at noon on 7 June 2019 and election results will be declared on 13 June 2019.

Denny Brunton
Returning Officer

Board of Trustees Elections 2019

Nominations are invited for the election of five (5) Parent Representative to the Awatapu College Board of Trustees.


Being a Board member is an important role in schools as Trustees have an oversight of the school in its entirety (i.e. finance, property, and governance), not just one area of the school. Being on a Board does not mean you are responsible for the day to day management of the school. Anyone, other than those ineligible under sections 103 and 103A of the Education Act 1989, may stand for election for the Board of Trustees. However, if you are not on the voting roll you must be nominated by a person who is.

Nomination forms and a notice calling for nominations are available here.

Nominations close at noon on Friday 10 May 2019 and may be accompanied by signed candidate’s statements of not more than 400 words. Nominations will close at noon on Friday 24 May 2019. The voting roll is open for inspection at the school office and can be viewed during normal school hours. There will also be a list of candidates’ names, as they come to hand, for inspection at the school office. The voting poll closes at noon on Friday 7 June 2019.

The new Board will take office on Friday 14 June 2019. This means the meeting on 12 June 2019 will be the last for the outgoing Board and is an opportunity for all potential Trustees to come and observe a Board in operation.

For more information on the Board of Trustees Election please visit or contact the Returning Officer, Denny Brunton, by emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or phoning 06 356 4817.

North Island Athletics Champs

Congratulations to Eli Gifkins-Cairncross who represented Manawatu and was the sole Awatapu competitor at the North Island Secondary School Athletics held in Tauranga on Saturday 6 and Sunday 7 April. Eli placed 5th in High Jump, 8th in Triple Jump and 9th in Long Jump. Well done!

Newsletter Signup

First Name(*)

Please let us know your name.

Last Name(*)

Please write a subject for your message.

Your Email(*)

Please let us know your email address.


Invalid Input